Presenting The 2021 Winners Of The Gaïa Prize

Presenting The 2021 Winners Of The Gaïa Prize

Before the September 16 awards ceremony, the Musée International d’horlogerie (MIH) has announced the four winners of the Prix Gaïa.

By Watchonista

Since 1993, the Prix Gaïa has recognized the careers and individual talents in the field of watchmaking. Hosted by the Musée International d’horlogerie (MIH), the annual Prix Gaïa ceremony has become a must-attend event on the horological calendar.

This year's ceremony will take place Thursday, September 16, at the Musée international d'horlogerie (MIH) in La Chaux-de-Fonds, located at Rue des Musées 29 in La Chaux-de-Fonds. The event will be attended by David Vitali, Head of the Culture and Society Section of the Federal Office of Culture.

The 2021 Prix Gaïa Winners

For the 2021 edition of the Prix Gaïa, the jury has selected four winners across three categories.

Carole Kasapi - winner in the Craftsmanship - Creation category

for conceiving and developing mechanisms that brilliantly combine design, function and reliability, for her involvement in many areas of the watchmaking industry and for her generosity in sharing her passion.

Anthony Turner - winner in the History - Research category

for his exceptional career as an independent consultant in watchmaking research and heritage, and for his historical and technical knowledge of horological objects and valuing collections.

Eric Klein - winner in the Entrepreneurship category

for his visionary character, his ability to understand the watch industry on a systemic level and his implementation of innovative and dynamic industrial processes aimed at guaranteeing excellence in product manufacturing and quality.

Horizon Gaïa grant

Alongside the three categories used to honour leading figures in the watchmaking world, Horizon Gaïa, an incentive grant made possible thanks to the generosity of the Watch Academy Foundation, is being awarded to encourage new talent in the fields recognised by the Prix Gaïa: Craftsmanship - Creation, History - Research, and Entrepreneurship. The grant will finance all or part of an individual project.

The Horizon Gaïa incentive grant has been awarded to Nathanaëlle Delachaux, a student about to complete her studies in the history of art and ethnology at the University of Neuchâtel. Born in 1993, she now lives in the canton of Neuchâtel and has significant experience of museum work.

And receive each week a custom selection of articles.

Presenting The 2022 Winners Of The Gaïa Prize

By Watchonista
The 2022 edition of the Prix Gaïa pays tribute to watchmaking talents and once again confirms its international significance.